STHS students honored for advanced placement knowledge

Forty-four students at South Tahoe High School have earned AP Scholar Awards in recognition of their exceptional achievement on advanced placement exams. The College Board's Advanced Placement Program provides students with the opportunity to take rigorous college-level courses while still in high school and to earn college credit, advanced placement, or both for successful performance on the AP exams.

About 18 percent of the nearly 1.7 million students worldwide who took AP exams performed at a sufficiently high level to also earn an AP Scholar Award. The College Board recognizes several levels of achievement based on students' performance on AP exams.

David Wise qualified for the National AP Scholar Award by earning an average grade of 4 or higher on a 5-point scale on all AP exams taken, and grades of 4 or higher on eight or more of these exams. Wise is attending the Massachusetts Institute of Technology on a full scholarship.

Twelve students qualified for the AP Scholar with Distinction Award by earning an average grade of at least 3.5 on all AP exams taken, and grades of 3 or higher on five or more of these exams: Cameron Allen, Sarah Breisacher, William Caglia, Stephany Campuzano, Kory DiGrande, Hannah Elder, Kathryn Kalinowski, Michael Suglian, Anna Tikhomirova, Ariana Truszewski, Kyle Wilkinson and David Wise.

Nine students qualified for the AP Scholar with Honor Award by earning an average grade of at least 3.25 on all AP exams taken, and grades of 3 or higher on four or more of these exams: Nicholas Brower, Justin Dalton, Alexis Holmes, Annie Lineberry, Ellen Martin, Marriela Penollar, Tiffany Racz, Kelsey Smith, Hannah Wheelen.

Twenty-three students qualified for the AP Scholar Award by completing three or more AP Exams with grades of 3 or higher: Erika Cook, Erik Cramer, Kelsey Davinson, Elisa Escobar, Melissa Ewing, Kristine Guarino, Jennifer Gutierrz, Brady Hiob, Rachel Kaufer, Catherine Kushner, Jessica Levine, Marisol Lizaola, Melissa Miller, Peter Pielaet-Strayer, Nicholas Pillsbury, Ashleigh Richardson, Rebecca Sanders, Jaclyn Tain, Madison Treiber, Dana Tumbaga, Karla Virrueta, Jordan Yingling and Jordan Zager.