Letter: Supervisor doesn't have to be on CTC, TRPA

To the community,

It was recently brought up that the California Tahoe Conservancy seat must be held by the elected supervisor. Well, as I recently corrected the same mistake about the TRPA seat by posting the actual section of the bi-state Compact clearly showing my earlier statements were correct, I will do the same for the CTC.



Kevin Brown

This came directly from the county website and is from the California Legislature. The Board of Supervisors has the final say on who is appointed:

CHAPTER 3. Organization [66906-66906.5] (Chapter 3 added by Slats. 1973, Ch. 1064.) 66906.1. The governing body of the conservancy shall be comprised of seven voting members and one ex officio nonvoting member. The voting members shall be as follows:

- (a) One member appointed by the City Council of the City of South Lake Tahoe.
- (b) One member appointed by the Board of Supervisors of the County of Placer.
- (c) One member appointed by the Board of Supervisors of the

County of El Dorado.

- (d) The Secretary of the Resources Agency or his or her designee.
- (e) One member appointed from the general public by the Senate Committee on Rules.
- (f) One member appointed from the general public by the Speaker of the Assembly.
- (g) The Director of Finance or the director's designee.

The members appointed or designated pursuant to subdivisions (d) to (g), inclusive, shall not be residents of the region.

The members of the governing body of the conservancy shall serve at the pleasure of the respective appointing authority.

A representative of the United States Secretary of Agriculture shall be an ex officio, nonvoting member of the conservancy.

It is at the discretion of the board to appoint. The Placer County Supervisor Jennifer Montgomery does not hold her seat either.

Kevin Brown, El Dorado County District 5 supervisor candidate