Tahoe area athletes named to U.S. Ski Team

The 2016 U.S. Alpine Ski team was publicly introduced on Nov. 21 during Nature Valley First Tracks, a public celebration at Copper Mountain, Colo., home of the U.S. Ski Team Speed Center.

Olympic medalists Ted Ligety, Lindsey Vonn, Mikaela Shiffrin, Julia Mancuso (Squaw Valley) and Andrew Weibrecht were among 43 athletes named to the 2015 A, B and C Team, with another nine to the development team and six to the National University Team.

Bode Miller will miss the 2015-16 season, but remain on the team. Mancuso will miss the 2015-16 season due to hip surgery, but has her sights set on PyeongChang in 2018.

Bryce Astle (Sandy, UT) and Ronnie Berlack (Franconia, NH) were named to the team posthumously. The two were poised at the start of their U.S. Ski Team career when they were killed last January in an avalanche in Austria. It is the first time the U.S. Ski Team has named an athlete to the team posthumously.

Men's A Team

David Chodounksy (Crested Butte, Colo.) Travis Ganong (Squaw Valley) Tim Jitloff (Reno)

Ted Ligety (Park City) Bode Miller (Franconia, N.H.)

Steven Nyman (Sundance, Utah)
Marco Sullivan (Squaw Valley)
Andrew Weibrecht (Lake Placid, N.Y.)

Women's A Team

Stacey Cook (Mammoth Mountain)
Julia Mancuso (Squaw Valley)
Alice McKennis (Glenwood Springs, Colo.)
Laurenne Ross (Bend, Ore.)

Mikaela Shiffrin (Eagle-Vail, Colo.)

Leanne Smith (North Conway, N.H.) Resi Stiegler (Jackson Hole, Wyo.) Lindsey Vonn (Vail).